The Confessional

By: Cassidy Hodges

I vowed to never give in. I thought I could stay strong. Then one day I was left unsupervised and it happened.

I have a confession to make: I’m a Farmviller.

Now before you quit reading—hear me out. Just like 80 million other users, curiosity got the best of me; after my first cow I was hooked. I planted my crops, made farmer friends, gathered livestock and still haven’t lived it down from my friends.

At one point I was checking my Facebook every 4 hours to milk a cow or plant some corn. Believe me—I have known all along that Farmville is quite possibly the most pointless game ever and it didn’t deter me.

But I’m not alone in the farm-fatuation.

Mashable.com

To this day I’m still quite unsure what allure there is to manually clicking 50 separate plots of land three times in a row to make fake money so you can buy fake seeds to plant all over again? There’s even an option to spend REAL money to buy fake money to buy fake seeds that will harvest fake crops.

So I guess my question is: When did American’s lives become this boring?

And with that, I’ll leave you with one YouTuber’s explanation.



If you’re curious how I’m doing with my problem, I’m happy to report that I’ve been Farmville free for five days and counting. My roommates are expecting a full recovery. Here’s proof of my barren farm.

If you or a loved one is still struggling, seek help here:

HOW TO: Block FarmVille on Facebook

Online FarmVille game ploughs new fields of revenue – Times Online

FarmVille’ gamemaker Zynga sees dollar signs – Fortune Brainstorm Tech

Leave a Reply

