Using Twitter in the Classroom

Here’s an interesting article on the many uses of twitter for classrooms from Tom Barrett.
I’m not so sure how I feel about some of them. While college students might appreciate the humor involved with limiting historical person’s biographies to 150 characters, I’m not so sure I would want my child’s first encounter with George Washington to occur in “tweets.” Or that I want my child’s teacher tweeting about what’s going on in her classroom instead of teaching my child how to read.
It would be interesting though to have a discussion based thread of tweets where students have to limit their responses to 150 characters. That would provide a nice control for a debate topic.
However you feel about Twitter aside, it’s interesting to see how far people are going and how much time they’re spending making sure people know that Twitter is an important media tool.

One response to “Using Twitter in the Classroom

  1. Pingback: How far is too far? « Practicum Pioneers

Leave a Reply

